top of page

The Beginning of the Pontiac Alumnae Chapter


In 1976, Anne Russell, a prominent educator and historical author, together with twenty-four other Delta women, felt the need to continue their public service within the Pontiac community; as well as maintain their bond as sisters. On November 30, 1976 these women chartered the Pontiac Alumnae Chapter (PAC) of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Since that time the Pontiac Alumnae Chapter has been a vital community service-based organization in Pontiac and in the surrounding Oakland county area.


The proud legacy of the Pontiac Alumnae chapter continues today. PAC partners with local churches, community groups, and other nonprofit organizations and programs that promote human welfare throughout Pontiac and its surrounding communities.


Pontiac Alumnae Chapter Charter Members


*Dorothy Arnold

Dr. Anna Dean Chandler

*Darlene Donaldson

Florence Etefia

*Leaviola Garris

*Brenda H. Hilliard

Delores Patricia Humphrey

Kay E. Manson Jeter

Lillie B. Johnson

*Marjorie S. Johnson

*Barbara Lane

Joyce Lane

Dr. Kathryn Littleton


Dr. Ellen Mayfield

*Bettie Pitchford

Zetella Rabb

*Elizabeth Ross

*Anne Russell

Vivian Scott

Frances Stewart

Angela Cheryl Strong

Jacquelyn Campbell Taylor

Tillie M. Thomas

Doretha Williams

*Dorothy M. Yancey



The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five Point Programmatic Thrust:


  • Economic Development

  • Educational Development

  • International Awareness and Involvement

  • Physical and Mental Health

  • Political Awareness and Involvement

Pontiac Alumnae Chapter Service Area:

Auburn Hills, Bloomfield Hills, Bloomfield Township, Clarkston, Commerce Township,   Independence Township, Keego Harbor, Lake Angelus, Lake Orion, Oakland Township,

Orchard Lake, Orion Township, Pontiac, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Sylvan Lake, Troy,
Walled Lake, Waterford, West Bloomfield, & Wolverine Lake


bottom of page